Lil’ Birdie… Me… & The Paper Doll

It’s strange how small small things take you back in time

What follows is pure nostalgia

While going through the blog of my friend Shruti Saxena, called I dareto dream, I came across this ever so cute paper doll and the heading was – Back to Childhood. Yes, truly… it did take me back to my childhood… my summer holidays… my fun days… when there were no worries about anything and we would just play aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaallllllll day… okaayyyy may be study a little too hee hee… 🙂

I remember hot summer afternoons with mom and dad… figuring out what to do… winter and summer holidays… again what to do… but somehow we would manage to find stuff to do.

Oh… how we used to make castles in the sand, cardboard motorcycles, mobile telephones out of a matchstick, paper dolls, quills, Christmas decorations, paint dried leaves golden and silver, buy some pots and colour them in all shades, wooden puppets, gulels and gilli dundas (toys) craved out of wood… cards with dried flowers and leaves… to send to all in new years and Diwali… and so much more.

We somehow did find lots to do in our holidays and mind you there was no television or theaters those days, no video games, no psp, no dvd… yet we never got bored.

Oh how we dipped into buckets full of yuuuuummmmmyyy mangoes waiting to be squeezed by us and relished. Red and green water melons and musk melons… which we ate all the time. And yes we did create some designs with the outer shell of the water melons and added them to our secret collection.

Times when I would lie down in the green grass and sing songs and listen to the pitter-patter of the falling rain. Many a times, well almost always dance in the rain and also race on the cycles when it was pouring. What a race…!

I used to feel 24 hours is less for us to enjoy the day and sleep away at night and yes we also used to spend hours gazing stars lying down on the roof and trying to figure out all the constellations (the Great Bear-was an all time favorite). Along with all this I also played a lot of badminton, did a lot of swimming, cycling, read a whole lot of books, did lot drawings and made sketches… Oh what super solid fun we had in our childhood!

Times when we would climb trees, collect some pebbles from drive ins, do some gardening, water plants, sprinkle the lawn and then smell the freshness of the wet mud. Oh how I still love that intoxicating fragrance… we would make bird nests and wait for the birdies to fly in and lay their eggs there… and if the birdies did fly in (which though never happened but we thought it did so)  we would wait for days and weeks and climb up and see if there were any eggs… hee hee…!!!

Later on we got to know the truth so we made proper bird houses and then the lil’ birdie’s did come and we did see some amazing birdie babies. How happy and just how excited we were and how we used to guard the eggs from the cats and other bad birds like the big black crow which would fly in to eat them all the time. Those days our only agenda all day was to guard the birdie eggs and later the babies from all evil.

Ah such amazing days still bring a smile on my face and happiness in my heart.

The trend now a days is pretty different. The only word I hear  is “I’m so bored” … “What should I do” … “There’s nothing to do”. This new generation is growing up with tons of gadgets and electronics and yet they lack creativity. If left to themselves they are unable to find how to kill spare time and do something creative.

Maybe it’s not their fault totally. Now-a-days you seldom find trees, birds, nests, open spaces and roof to do all these things…

I’m glad I was born in an era when I could do all these small but special things. Many a things I seem to have forgotten.

I hope I did take you all down your memory lane too. Do feel free and share your special kiddy memories with me…!!!

And yes I totally forgot to show you all the paper doll which is so cute and so easy to make… so go on and enjoy.

Happppiieeee Holidays :)))

Paper Doll

Paper Doll

Leave a Reply

