“My Mother is a Business Woman”

There may be very few people like me who started working very late in life. I’m yet to meet one. Though I did try my hand at few things earlier but I was destined to end up here. Here’s something that kept my attention and interest in the last six years.

It’s been an interesting journey when I started from a blog where I would write all that would catch my eye. When did my small blog turn into a branding platform? I’m myself surprised!

The major drawback however is the time lost in life. When I meet people today I realize they’ve been working for 15-20-25 years. I’m a baby in front of those big shots. I truly have a long way to go, I tell myself. Yeah!

Well, at the same time I’m proud of doing what all I’ve done in the past six years. From a blog to a Digital Agency… seems a great level. Yes, it takes time for people to take you seriously and even more time to get used to the fact that you are now 40+, a working woman and not a housewife. Five years later, the world will accept, even if it’s with a pinch of salt. (Do Not Give Up).

1501750_10151751995601307_1109423007_nA small blog turned into a branding platform and creative agency with clients I could not handle with a team put together. So the team increased and then what followed was a space and cash crunch. A kitchenette was transformed into an office with red carpets and blue curtains, a few computers and loads of tea cups gave us G Caffe.

And now I’m asked, “Can you afford so many employees?” Then I proudly say, “Yes, I Can.” Isn’t that an achievement to be proud of, for us whose baby is just 6-year-old with a 44-year-old Mumma.

So many eyebrows were raised when people heard I’ve a Start-up. It was tough. Thanks to these modern times, Start-ups are now taken seriously. They’re affordable and trustworthy too. You know why? As they honestly want to compensate the time gap which they left behind in a journey called life and want to achieve.

geetanjali-kaul-brand-stories1Now at G Caffe, we are branding those who are coming our way and I feel pride in saying though late in life but I’m glad to be here. The world has now accepted me as a working woman, maybe partly, but yes. This has been the toughest of all crunches ever. The crunch of believing in me.

I had MY moment when during the process of filling a form for school I got stuck at the column which asked – “Profession of Mother”. Very confidently, my son said, “Business Woman Mumma.”

I took a deep breath! I did it!

One thought on ““My Mother is a Business Woman”

Leave a Reply

